Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Problems after removal of staircase

Hi Landlord Zone 4.04.2021
    I am new to this blog and would like some advise. I own a ground floor maisonette (GFF) in a building which consist of a first floor (FFF ) and ground floor maisonette. It was a semi detached conversion in the 1930’s.
    An external fire escape metal staircase serving the FFF balcony was attached to the ground floor rear extension wall. The FFF balcony was for the exclusive use of FFF and so was the staircase.
    The staircase was defective and metal steps were failing off. There were structural cracks to ground floor rear extension(GFRE) wall caused by the staircase at the junction of where the staircase was attached. The cracks caused water penetration and damp to GFRE.

I notified Freeholders(FH) and FFF lessee for a few years of structural cracks and damp. Both did nothing. The damp was worsening and needed constant damp treatment and decoration.

About two years ago the staircase was removed by FFF lessee who said he obtained advise and consent from FH. Removal caused further extensive damp, missing brickwork and further structural cracks to GFRE wall. GFRE’s ceiling lies underneath the concrete balcony roof.

Two years later, FH and FFF lessee agreed to repair GFRE damage caused by removal of staircase. Whilst their contractors were carrying out repair, it was noticed that the damage was more extensive than they thought. FH’s engineer and insurer’s reports reveal that removal caused crack damage to the concrete balcony roof, also there were additional layers of asphalt on balcony roof and leaving the cracked roof open to the elements caused water penetration and damaged and weakened the metal stell beams. FFF uses the balcony and for storage of heavy items.