Buying a share of freehold? (2 flats: 1 with lease, 1 without lease)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Buying a share of freehold? (2 flats: 1 with lease, 1 without lease)

Could anyone who is familiar with the law about leaseholders obtaining a share of freehold offer any advice/comments about if they think I would be able to? I did another post yesterday related to a leasehold flat that I'm trying to buy, but this question is specifically about if I could obtain a share of the freehold after buying the flat. I think the answer is no but I'm new to this topic and not sure if I've understood the rules properly.

The building has two flats in total - converted from a house in the late 80s. The lower flat (the one i want to buy), has a lease but the other flat is owned by the freeholder and doesn't have a lease. As far as I can tell from the info' in the lease, the current freeholder isn't the one who created the lease for the lower flat, so I assume that they bought the freehold and the upper flat which doesn't have a lease at some point after the 80s. I don't know if the freeholder has ever lived in either of the flats, but they currently rent out the upper flat which doesn't have a lease.

This point which I read on the LEASE website makes me think that this building wouldn't qualify for obtaining a share of freehold: 'at least two-thirds of the flats must be owned by qualifying tenants.' Does that mean that both flats in the building would need to have leases in order for the lesees to buy the freehold (or more precisely, for the lower flat to buy half of the freehold from the current freeholder)?