Section 22 LTA 1985 – What can we really inspect?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Section 22 LTA 1985 – What can we really inspect?

Hi All,

Can you please help with the questions below?

Section 22 Par. 2 states that:

“The tenant, or the secretary with the consent of the tenant, may within six months of obtaining the summary require the landlord in writing to afford him reasonable facilities:
    (a) for inspecting the accounts, receipts and other documents supporting the summary, and
    (b) for taking copies or extracts from them.”

Questions:

1) being an accountant, I would expect that “inspecting the accounts” means having access to the full accounting ledger, considering that soon after the law goes on to say that we can also inspect receipts, which I interpret as the actual invoices etc. Is it correct assumption that we must be granted access to the accounting ledger? 2) What would the “other documents” under (a) comprise of? Can we request access to contracts in order to confirm if a service has effectively been contracted exclusively for our building?
    3) The service charge summary includes the Balance Sheet and there is a section for the accruals. Can we request a full breakdown of the accruals even though they are not 100% related to the accruals accounted for in the current period (i.e. accrued costs include balances from previous years) as this would qualify as details to support the summary?

Thank you for clarifying!

A good manager would volunteer as much information as they could, in advance, to try and avoid a formal request.

Although I know of at least one person that would disagree, I think that the full journal cold not be used, as it would reveal personal information about defaulting leaseholders.