Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can majority freeholders/directors change own Lease

Hello,
    I am new to freehold so please bare with me.....I have just purchased a flat. I am a shareholder and director and I plan subletting the flat out. The Lease states that consent is required and a reasonable fee needs to be paid to the managing agent who is managing the property. Could we collectively decide to pay £0 for sub letting fees and ignore window cleaning clause?

How many flats, shareholder and directors are there? Consent will be required however it can not be unreasonably withheld.

Comment

You cannot remove obligations in the the lease that you have to other leaseholders without either their consent or a tribunal ruling. There are limited circumstances in which the latter option applies. A majority only allows you to ensure that the freeholder gives consent. It doesn't override objections by leaseholders who aren't shareholders, or didn't agree to the decision.

There will be conveyancing costs involve in a lease change.

The right to reject sub-lets is a valuable protection against, for example, a landlord who doesn't want to get their hands dirty, entering a rent to rent agreement with a housing association, who then install anti-social tenants. It also allows you to check that tenancy agreements don't allow tenants to beach terms of the lease. Vetting tenancy agreements takes time, and any managing agent will not do that for free.

I have no idea what your window cleaning clause is.

https://www.lease-advice.org/article...freehold-flat/ stresses that share of the freehold companies are still bound by the terms of the lease, and by landlord and tenant law.

Comment

leaseholder64,

Would that be a conflict of interests situation where the Lease states they need to pay a reasonable fee?

Comment

Are you director of the Residents Management Company or the Company owning the freehold title ? How many BTL flats in the block ?

Comment