Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Share of Freehold : building maintenance issue

Hello Everyone,

I am new to this (great) website, bear with me please if this question has already been asked.
    I own a flat in a share of freehold for about 4 years now, and there are 3 flats in total.

The other two members of the freehold have been renting out their flats for more than 15 years, so they don't care much about the building maintenance.

The lease explicitly mentions that the staircase area need to be maintained clean by the Freeholder all the time, and redecorated every 4 years.
    It also says the freeholder has to repaint the external walls every 7 years...
    We are 3 directors in the freeholding company, for which the incorporation documents are very light and don't mention anything about the building maintenance etc...

The building is currently in very bad condition, and haven't been redecorated for more than 20 years...
    I have a building survey report done recently that highlights all work that need to be completed (painting, fire alarm system, etc...).

The other members are not responsive to my requests (in emails) to redecorate and repair the building.

My question is : what's the best way to "force" the other members to pay for the building maintenance work?
    Do I have to engage a solicitor? If so, any help to find a cheap one would be very helpful.

Many thanks!!
    Jo

Not directly answering the question, but:

One wouldn't expect the company articles to say anything relevant; that will all be in the leases.

It sounds like the company is committing criminal offences under, at least, the 2005 Regulatory Reform (Fire Safety) Order.

If it needs fire alarms, it may be a section 257, and committing offences under that legislation, as well.