Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Agent still holds deposit+advance rent after 4 months now

Hi Landlords,
    I am writing this post after trying to look for information about options Landlord has since the agent has not forwarded 1 month advance rent and deposit (£1000.00) by the tenant to me. i have been chasing with this Hometrack approved agent since 4 months and every time a new excuse is hatched. there are 4 failed cheques of different amount that banks have forwarded to me as they failed to clear. there is a trail of email which shows how i have tried to chase the payment.
    the agent is difficult to contact, doesn't come on the phone nor willing to meet 1:1

I have attached a zip of communication trail which took place between Agent and Me and it would show how the false promises were made on every round in the email. each attempt to get the payment is categorised as rounds eg Round 1 "payment in Post" Round 2 "BACS Transfer",etc

not sure if any other landlord had problems with agents and what did they do obtain the money, any advice would be appreciated

Thanks for repsonse
    Attached Files

Disinstruct the agency ASAP and get direct tenant payments to you. If tenant is not willing to cooperate then give them notice (S21 and S8 when applicable).

I would take this to the small claims court - you have been patient enough. I would also contact the EA Obundsman as your agency seems to be registered - http://www.referenceline.com/trackre...rmnumber=18510

Just a few quick questions:

1) Is the agent regulated

2) Does the client money go in a ring fenced account [1]

3) Do you know for sure the tenant has moved in?

4) Has the agency complied with all the requirements of deposit protection