Newbie needing serious advice!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie needing serious advice!

Hi All. I am very new to all of this and need some guidance. I am at the point where I am about to purchase a holiday letting chalet in Lincolnshire. Unfortunately the banana skin has been delivered in that the 3rd party solicitors are indicating that I can NOT use a 3rd party agent platform to advertised my chalet but MUST use only theirs. If I search booking.com and airbnb I can find chalets being advertised on there.....the solicitors say I can only use their agent being {Name Removed} (never heard of them). The difference is this, booking/airbnb I can return around £600 per week, whereas directholidays is advertising similar chalets at £377 per week. I am baffled that they can actually have this much control/greed/suppression over MY investment which appears to me they are taking around 45% cut PLUS £3k service charges AND £450 maintenance charges per annum. Have they really got this control? As I am paying cash for the entire amount for the chalet with a license to assign surely I have the right to let to whom I wish and use any platform or agent to do so as long as no breach of contract/lease agreement is done. In the next few days I have to instruct my solicitor what I want to do, buy this small investment or invest all my money to hand over control and income to these greedy jackals???

If you think they're, "greedy jackals" then why would you want to enter in an investment where your return is linked to their actions?

Also if you know that a customer can go to directholidays and get a chalet for £377, why do you think you can get £600?

Comment

Presumably your solicitor has read the documentation. What does he say?

Comment

Originally posted by Sydaton View Post
        If you think they're, "greedy jackals" then why would you want to enter in an investment where your return is linked to their actions?