Are these fees reasonable, and would you try and self manage?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Are these fees reasonable, and would you try and self manage?

Hello, I am a landlord of one-flat. I became a landlord through personal circumstances (got married, move in with my now wife).

I've been renting out my flat for a few years. For a while, I let it to friends, and didn't use an agent. For the past 18 months, I have been using an agent. I live abroad, and pay 12% of the monthly rent to an agent. I haven't had any particular problems, but the agent is not always easy to reach, and I wonder if I'm getting a good deal.

I have a few questions.

In your opinion, is 12% a reasonable rate for fully managed?
    Would you recommend reducing the service, (i.e. rent collect or simply tenant find) and trying to manage myself, or sign up to services like British Gas boiler insurance?

Keen to hear views, as I have a niggling feeling that 12% may be too high, but on the other hand, it has been fairly trouble free (so far, touchwood).

If you're living abroad an agent is helpful because of the issue of deducting tax before sending rent abroad.
    When I post, I am expressing an opinion - feel free to disagree, I have been wrong before.
    Please don't act on my suggestions without checking with a grown-up (ideally some kind of expert).

Comment

Not sure if this will be helpful. But hope it may give you a guide. I've recently made enquiries about using a letting agent (having self managed for the past few years) and was quoted 10.5%. This was via an estate agent, I have no idea how good or bad they are; this was my only quote therefore others may be higher or lower; 12% may give you more sevices. As jpkeates mentioned bear in mind the issue of deducting tax before sending rent abroad.
      mrsdee

Comment

Letting agents will be charging more now that they can't charge tenants.