Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Any way out of Landlord renewal fees?

Hi,

I have been renting a 1 bedroom property in London for the last 14 years which has been pretty successful. For the first number of years I rented it myself (I had one guy in there for 5 years whch was great) but in the last 4-5 years I have been using agents. When using an agent the tenants haven't stayed beyond a year so I haven't faced this issue around renewal fees for me as the landlord.

So my current tenant (AST started on 3rd April 2019) would like to stay beyond April of this year but the terms and conditions I signed in 2018 for my previous tenancy with them (I don't see anything in the agreement I signed with them about how long the agreement applies for), not the current one, states that renewal fees are 6% + VAT (compared to 7% + VAT for the inital find only fee).

The relevant terms and conditions I signed are below but it is worth noting that the final page of the agreement refers specifically to the renewal fees, which I guess is to ensure they dont get caught by the OFT and Foxtons hidden clause issue from back in 2010 or so.

Their terms and conditions seem to close off the option of letting it go periodic as a means to avoid the "renewal fees" although it would be payable monthly in advance.

For some reason the tenant knows the estate agents (their office is right underneath my building) so any chance of trying to pull a fast one and pretend she isn't there isn't going to fly.

I know things have changed with respect to the fees tenants can be charged for renewals but is there anything which applies to landlord fees?

Does anyone have any advice in what to do in this situation? Should I

a) Continue on a periodic tenancy
    b) Renew myself directly
    c) Renew through the agency but ask for say a 3% increase in rent to offset the renewal fee?