Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Agent check-in vs check-out reports - format and level of detail

Hi,

When a agent compiles a check out report/inventory, should it usually follow the same format and level of detail as the initial check in?

Good practice examples online state something along these lines:
    "The inventory report is a document, accompanied with digital media, that documents the property, its contents and their condition. Two identical inventory reports are performed during every tenancy – one before the tenant moves in with their luggage and another one when the tenant moves out with all their belongings. These reports are imperative to both landlords and tenants because they legally benchmark the quality of the property for future reference."

How often is that followed in practice? Our's has only provided only a brief report listing just the differences to the original (more comprehensive) report.

Since I'm relatively new to letting, I'm trying to decide how hard to push them on this.

Any input appreciated.

Hi, I am an inventory clerk and my check outs only note the differences - that is all they need. You have the ingoing inventory with all the detail and the check out provides you with a list of the changes. The check out should include room pictures, so you can see the general condition, and pictures of the differences with a note as to whether they are FWT, maintenance or could attract a proportional compensation charge, etc. It should include a note about smoke/CO alarms having had the test buttons pressed, any non working light bulbs and standard of cleaning.

Two identical inventory reports are performed during every tenancy I am not sure that is entirely true, there are 3 of them, but most organisatons (Tenants Voice here??) seem to describe the inventory and check in as one document, whereas they are 2 separate reports and should be conducted separately.