Rent protection insurance for tenant with credit check but with NO reference

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Rent protection insurance for tenant with credit check but with NO reference

Hello, I'm new to being a landlord and am about to rent my flat out to one full time employed person and their student partner.

The full time employed person has passed a credit check with positive references from previous landlord, and affordability for £650.

Their partner is from the US and not yet arrived in the UK, will be in receipt of student loans, has passed a credit check with affordability of £240 (total rent for property is £890 so I put the maximum on the employed person and the remainder on the student, as advised by the credit check company rentchecks.com).

HOWEVER I do not have references for the student because they are not currently employed or renting.

I'm struggling to find a rent protection insurance that will cover this joint tenancy despite both passing credit checks, both passing affordability checks, just because I don't have a reference for the student. I don't want to use rentchecks.com own rent guarantee because I read reviews that they never pay out. I used this company for the checks as it was the only one I found that would do an international student check for someone who isn't yet in the country.

Can anyone recommend a rent protection insurance that would accept the level of checks I've got? What do people do as a reference when they're a student who hasn't rented before?

Thanks!

Questions from first time poster advice:

Q1 – Where is the rented property located? - Brighton

Q2 – What type of Tenancy Agreement (TA) is this - whole flat, assured tenancy, joint tenancy

Q3 – What date did current TA start - due to start mid September

Q4 – How long was initial fixed term - 12 months