Overzealous spam control

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Overzealous spam control

Wrote a post response with a link to an old thread within this forum and posted fine. Realised I linked to the thread rather than the specific post, so edited and corrected the link by removing the existing and reinserting the correct link. So still just the one link, and it's a link to another forum post. Hit save, and a popup tells me the post been flagged as spam and has been moderated.

Seriously?
    I am not a lawyer, nor am I licensed to provide any regulated advice. None of my posts should be treated as legal or financial advice.

It happens now and again.
    Happened to me, but the Mods will see it and approve it ( assuming all is above board )

Comment

On another forum I visit regularly moderation like this used to happen frequently, and members often complained about their posts getting moderated.

So admin reduced the severity of the spam filters, which of course then allowed some spam to get through.

Now there are constant complaints at that forum about the spam getting onto the board.
      It gets cleared off 2 or 3 times a day but some members still complain.

Spam is a hazard of having a forum these days, the only way to stop it completely is to close your forum to new registrations, which defeats the point of having a forum.
      It's like unwanted phone calls, you can register on the TPS but there is no way to stop them altogether (and some genuine calls will get blocked).

It's a balancing act - strict spam filters and some genuine posts will get moderated - or less strict filters, less genuine posts moderated but some spam will get through.
      And whichever choice the admin/mods make someone complains.

Comment

It's not either or.