LHA tenant calendar month v 4 weekly payments

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

LHA tenant calendar month v 4 weekly payments

Hi guys, I'm new to the landlord game so excuse me if I'm asking something that's been on here loads of times

My first tenant will be in receipt of LHA and though they've asked Council to pay me direct, there's no guarantee that's going to be approved at this stage. Am I ok with getting tenant to sign an AST that states rent is due calendar monthly in advance, but agreeing with them that they can pay 4 weekly in arrears, ie either direct from the Council or from their bank account the day after they receive the LHA?

I read a thread that supports my view that this effectively means tenant is 4 weeks behind even before I receive the first payment, which has got to be good news for me. They're a lovely family and I'm not aniticpating any problems, just want to make sure I'm not doing anything that will invalidate the AST or scupper any chances of s.21 notice etc., if needed.

Thanks
    Paul

There is a notorious and unresolved discrepancy between:
    a. normal AST procedures (rent calendar monthly in advance); and
    b. normal HB/LHA procedures (rent four-weekly in arrears).

If T executes (or enters into) an AST on basis 'a', that's what binds T irrespective of receipts on basis 'b'.
    I'd stick to 'a' in all cases but warn T of the problem. Cannot T pay at least month1's rent with own money?
    JEFFREY SHAW, solicitor [and Topic Expert], Nether Edge Law*
    1. Public advice is believed accurate, but I accept no legal responsibility except to direct-paying private clients.
    2. Telephone advice: see http://www.landlordzone.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=34638.
    3. For paid advice about conveyancing/leaseholds/L&T, contact me* and become a private client.
    4. *- Contact info: click on my name (blue-highlight link).

Comment