Licence Agreement - Withholding Rent

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Licence Agreement - Withholding Rent

I am a student living in a 17 bedroomed house, there are houses either side of us making a total of 47 students in the enitre premises.
    We share common areas and as far as I can tell from the contract, only the rooms are private areas to us.
    The landlord does not live on-site. We have cleaning services 3 times a week and in addition to our rent we're being charged a 'service charge' for all repairs.
    Everybody is charged for the internet regardless of whether you have a PC (though not in the contract or on the website) and if there's a breakage in house A then houses B & C will still get their share of the bill. Literally all damages and bills are shared throughout 3 properties. As far as I can tell it is a licence agreement and this means they don't have to protect our deposit (which they haven't anyway).
    We have had many problems this year with management.