Can classification as an HMO reduce your house value when you sell?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can classification as an HMO reduce your house value when you sell?

Hi,

I have a single dwelling five bed house with one kitchen,
    but two bathrooms
    and one 2 room 'suite' that has it's own shower and toilet
    though kitchen and all other areas are shared
    + the house has one shared single main entrance and shared garden

I live here but the place is too big for me (single person)
    So I currently have two lodgers (so no need for HMO license at this point)
    but would prefer at least one more (HMO licence required)

I am advised by a professional that,
    even though I'm a resident landlord with sharing tenants on lodger agreements
    it would (nonetheless) be at the discretion of the council to decide whether the house is considered one building with several bedsits
    (OR , there's a possiblity they *might* consider it as shared house)

MY QUESTION is -

Would the licensing of the house as "a building with several bedsits" affect the value of the house if I decide to sell later on?

BIGGEST WORRY HERE - having defined the house as an "HMO with bedsits",

I understand that they could (in due course) decide to issue separate council tax bills for parts of the building (I believe).

The obvious case being the room with its own toilet and shower -though it may not stop there?

I presume this could be a sizeable problem if I decide to sell the house later (which I prob will)

I'd be restricted to buyers who plan to be HMO landlords, maybe cash buyers
    as this would be a problem for an ordinary family buyer (plus their mortgage provider would not like it etc)

Any advice or views on these (or similar HMO/house value hazards) would be appreciated !

Thank you