X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HMO I live in has Zero Insulation

Hi,
    I'm a student living in a 7-bed HMO.

We've always had difficulties keeping this house warm.
    We bought our own thermostat as the existing boiler timer was difficult. Then we rebalanced the radiators which helped normalise the coldest rooms a bit better.

The underlying issue seems to be the house loses heat very quickly, especially upstairs where my housemates always complain about their rooms being very cold. After the heating goes off at 11pm the house loses 3-4 degrees by 1am.

For reference, in December we were billed £150 for that month's energy usage with the heating set to 20C for a few hours in the morning and evening. I submit regular meter readings to our provider (Bulb). This seems quite high considering the size of the home.

Yesterday we had our EPC inspection; the inspector said that the house has zero loft or cavity wall insulation. Here's a picture of inside the loft I took earlier in the year (Higher resolution here: https://i.imgur.com/4riU8BM.jpg):
    4riU8BM.jpg
    (Nice wasp nest, huh?)

Now I understand squalid conditions and being cold are the standard student experience, but does anyone know how I can convince my landlord to insulate our home?

Thanks

Funny anecdote from the EPC inspector, this landlord has about 30 student lets. Of the homes he offers bills-included the homes are all very energy efficient and well insulated. The rest look like this one...

Comment

It doesn't have zero insulation. Brick walls are insulators, as are roofs and ceilings. Cavity wall insulation is still uncommon, as it is expensive, unless you can get a grant, and not possible if there are no cavities. Loft insulation is cheap and easy to do, so there is no excuse for not having that.