Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Short-term let (Air BnB, Booking.com) occupancy rates

Hi all,

This is my first time posting so please forgive me if I have used the incorrect forum.

I am beginning to pull together an opportunity in the Bournemouth area to sublet an apartment on a HMO basis (shared bathroom and kitchen facilities) using outlets such as AirBnB, I am interested to find out more with regards to these types of ventures, the main thing I would like to know right now is the expected occupancy rates of these places so I can begin to draw up some rough financials. I understand that this rate will vary a lot depending on region, type of property, time of year, etc.

As an open question, does anybody own a property that operates like this and has any advice, furthermore what level of occupancy do you have year-round?

Do you know of any resources/methods I could use to get a better understanding of how often these short-term let rooms are occupied?

Have you checked that your lease permits this?

Comment

If you are the tenant you could be invalidating the landlords insurance, breaching his mortgage terms or his lease, not to mention the terms of your own tenancy. Also bear in mind that Bournemouth has an Article 4 Directive covering the whole (former) borough, so you would need planning consent to operate it as an HMO which you would be unlikely to get.

Comment

Originally posted by DPT57 View Post
        Also bear in mind that Bournemouth has an Article 4 Directive covering the whole (former) borough, so you would need planning consent to operate it as an HMO which you would be unlikely to get.
        Wherever you are (even if there isn't an Article 4 direction) you'd need sui generis planning status (or possibly C1 planning status) if they are room-by-room short lets. It wouldn't be C4 as that requires the property to be the main residence of the tenant, and it wouldn't be C3 as that requires the occupants to be a household.

Comment