Considering first HMO? Advice?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Considering first HMO? Advice?

Hello. I'm not a commercial landlord but have two houses I rent. I recently saw a well appointed HMO in Bristol with 6 rooms over 3 floors. It is already working as a HMO returning approx 6.5%.

As I have no experience in HMOs then am I right in assuming these additional complexities:
    1. More difficult resale in future, not appealing to families or first time buyers
    2. Costs of licensing
    3. Increased tenant turnover and costs of management
    4. Increase mortgage costs of HMO

Is there anything else I might consider? Personally I thinking that with these additional complexities then I should really looking for something that returns 7% or more. The upside is that it is very well appointed and ready to go.

Thoughts?

I would read some of the replies to very similar recent questions on this section of the forum and then come back if you need more.

Comment

Latest Activity

Collapse

• HMO Leading Blogs
      VictoriaH
      Which are the leading blogs/ authoritative people to follow for HMOs
      I've come across Ash Zuberi online
      I was wondering who are the top 5 to follow?...
      20-10-2018, 15:39 PM
    • PAT testing cert
      rugbyroom
      Dear Forum,

I have a registered HMO and new council official wanting to see numerous cert etc which I have, however I have my own PAT tester (callibrated) and get someone to do the tests for me who simply attended a 1 day course through their work.

They cant give certificates...
      18-10-2018, 12:03 PM
    • Reply to PAT testing cert
      rugbyroom
      The test consist of plugging each appliances into a hand held tester to confirm wires etc are fitted correctly. A visual inspection and then a sticker stuck on the plug to confirm its safe. Council wants certificates to confirm this has been done, but I'm reading that a competent person can do this...
      19-10-2018, 10:20 AM