Lettng second property (mother's inherited a house)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Lettng second property (mother's inherited a house)

I'm a complete beginner, I do apologise if I'm not giving enough information.

I am living abroad for a couple of years and my husband and I rent out our family home with full management from an agency.

The rent money comes to our joint bank account and we each declare half the rent on our UK tax return. This is my only source of income, I do not work.
    We do not pay income tax on this rent because we are abroad.

Now, my very elderly mother has inherited a friend's house and the responsiblity is frightening and overwhelming her. She wishes to rent it out but just can't cope with it and has had her head in the sand about it leaving us with a very tight deadline.

My sisters and I have decided to transfer the house to me and I will rent it out, separate to my own house, but through the same letting agent.

The rent will come to my own bank account, not the joint marital one and I will transfer the money to my mother.

I am speaking to the solicitor and ringing the tax office tomorrow but I have little time as this must all be sorted on Monday. I can't think of anyone else I can ask.
    I don't want to miss any questions that I could be asking tomorrow because of my ignorance and poor understanding of rentals and I won't get another chance because of the deadline.

If anyone can help I would be extremely grateful, or if there's something I should think about that occurs to you, I would love to hear it.

Will adding a second rental property impact us? Are there any rules for two properties rather than one?
    Will we be a business rather than a private home rental?
    Will we still be able to avoid income tax on our own home or will a second property affect this?

I'm so sorry to be so naive!