Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Considering purchase and letting a flat

Hi All

My wife and i are considering purchasing and letting a flat. We are total newbies to this and would appreciate some advice to see if this is something worth proceeding with or not!

The circumstances are:
    -We are in our mid 40s and are coming into an inheritence of about 140k
    -We are close to mortgage free (about 5k to go)
    -We live in a block of freehold flats where people either own and live or own and rent.
    -A flat is not yet for sale, but they come up reasonably often (hence we are researching early)
    -We live in a flat on the top floor, and a flat we are keen to get would be on the Ground floor (for long term future proof purposes (!) should we want to move in to it long term)
    -The flats currently sell for between 140-150k (so we would need a very small mortgage) rent for between £700-750 per calendar month.

Our main reasons for considering this are:
    -Long term investment purposes.
    - As mentioned, we may want to move in long term.

Any advice appreciated!

Many thanks!

Sounds like a fab idea. Only one factor needs to thoroughly thought about - calibre of tenants. otherwise property investment is sound!! i was landlord a few weeks ago, and had to evict my tenants. Now I am selling, because I have had enough stress.........

another idea is why don't you rent out your apartment and buy a house for yourself.

Comment

I would sell the flat you own and buy using the inheritance a larger property.

Then no tax or difficult tenants to worry about

Comment

If I was you I’d be taking out quite a large mortgage rather than a very small mortgage, mortgage borrowing is cheap at the moment, that way you can keep some of the money back to invest elsewhere - i.e another property, or stocks and shares ISA etc.
        Or as suggested above buy a house for yourself and remortgage your own flat to rent out.

Comment