Government grant and 80% wages being paid due to Corona

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Government grant and 80% wages being paid due to Corona

I know Boris and co said this days ago but my accountant seems to think its all lies?

He is telling all his clients that eventually all employers will have to pay back the 80% over time and the grant eventually anyone who takes it will have to pay it back and that my wife doesn't qualify because she has money in the bank?

I don't know how he thinks he knows all this because when I spoke to HMRC on Tues they said now I registered my wifes business she will be given the details along with everyone else in 2-3 weeks time.

Its not like business is slow or an expected problem cropped up. The whole planet is effected so if she can't open her business for 3 months or even if she could punters are not allowed to her place of business. Same for me i'm off work as I work in retail it's not like the work wasn't there because it was and I can't see how my wife, boss and other business can pay this money back if we can't open and earn money?

I just thought long term in a few years time taxes would go up or by the time I hit pension age in 20 years the state pension would be worthless so worry about it then.

Does my accountant know something I don't? What does everyone else think?

Since the crisis hit I knew deep down we would have to raid our savings and maybe have to pay it into her business if needs must but not everyone is that lucky.

I think I'd change your accountant.
    Whatever else they are, they're extremely unsupportive.
    When I post, I am expressing an opinion - feel free to disagree, I have been wrong before.
    Please don't act on my suggestions without checking with a grown-up (ideally some kind of expert).

Comment

Latest Activity

Collapse

• The beginning
      by JoshyT
      How will landlords on here react to houseprice declines and renters with lower disposable incomes?