Loaning money from someone to buy a property

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Loaning money from someone to buy a property

I want to buy a property and have half the money however the bank have refused the mortgage.

A contact of mine wants to lend me the other half of the money. I will pay him back his loan plus an agreed interest rate over a 5 year term. If I default on the repayments then he automatically owns 50% of the property.

Does anybody know what sort of legal document or processes i need to make this happen. I'm new to the property market so would appreciate any help you can give a newbie.

Many Thanks.

This is the same dodgy post from yesterday but reworded.

You should go and see a solicitor about drawing up a bespoke contract between you and the lender that encompasses all the details.

Comment

Before you go down this route may I enquire why did your bank refuse your loan application given that the borrowing was limited to 50%? Was it the property, your affordability or credit profile?

Comment

Two reasons.

If if I remember rightly, he’s renting a property (didn’t say whether residential or commercial) but using it as a business that generates 20k in profit every year.
        Didn't say what that “business” was.
        He now wants to buy the property (or a similar one) to do the same “business” but can’t get a mortgage because 1) poor credit rating and 2) there is no mortgage product suited to what he wants to do.

It was all very wishy-washy when I saw the thread yesterday and I assume it was deleted by a mod.

Comment

Thanks RedHitman , clearly falls under my views regarding Non disclosure , not really worth the effort in pursuing any further responses to Bluebull

Comment

Hi Loanarranger,

The mortgage was refused on the grounds of poor credit. I have an AR marker on my credit file. It comes from rearranging a lower APR with a Barclays credit card.