Conventional Repayment Mortgage vs Buy-to-let

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Conventional Repayment Mortgage vs Buy-to-let

I'm fairly new to Landlording and have a couple of questions.

I am getting married this summer and have a new build home to move into. My partner's flat (where we currently live) will continue on a repayment mortgage until the end of the fixed term and we will have tenants paying rent which will cover the mortgage repayments (after we have moved out).

When this fixed period is over we intend to continue renting the property but not sure that we want a BTL mortgage - we want to own it then continue to have rental income as profit only when it is paid off. We'll also have the capital available for our retirement when we dispose of the property.

Is this something that is done?

There is the tax implications as well which I have thought about but not fully considered or calculated.
    The CGT payable on disposal would surely be the same as if it was on a BTL mortgage. The only part that is less tax efficient is the fact that I will not get tax relief on the capital repayment part. I would need to some calculations to see what tax I'd need to pay.

I'd like to know your thoughts...

Thanks!