My daughter owns my flat- what's my legal status?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My daughter owns my flat- what's my legal status?

Hi,
    I'm a newbie and hope that someone can help in what is quite a compicated situation.

I live in a house my daughter purchased. She paid the deposit and took out a mortgage which I pay. Between us we have paid out approx. £10000 on upgrading the property.

For tax purposes she transferred the property to my son in law but there is a legal agreement that the property cannot be sold without the permission of all three parties. There is also no tenancy agreement.

Last year they were divorced and he agreed to a settlement and to transfer the property back to her. He renaged on both. He has gone ahead with a Buy To Let mortgage and demands that I pay £120 more per month plus the buildings insurance.

The reason behind it all is control....of her....through me so I need to know my rights.

Any advice please

Thanks

Anna

1. Your daughter should go back to Court and enforce Settlement.
    2. "Legal agreement": is this protected by any registration at HMLR? It should be- that would have prevented remortgage.
    3. How could he do a BTL mortgage when the property is not subject to a written AST?
    Last edited by jeffrey; 14-08-2007, 21:34 PM. Reason: Original para. 1 deleted as thread now in Conv. Forum
    JEFFREY SHAW, solicitor [and Topic Expert], Nether Edge Law*
    1. Public advice is believed accurate, but I accept no legal responsibility except to direct-paying private clients.
    2. Telephone advice: see http://www.landlordzone.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=34638.
    3. For paid advice about conveyancing/leaseholds/L&T, contact me* and become a private client.
    4. *- Contact info: click on my name (blue-highlight link).

Comment

I was going to respond with a 'Benefical Ownership Declaration' but that was squashed when I read that your daugther transfered the ownership to her then Husband.