Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

DIY Conveyancing and selling

Hi,
    We are selling a property and doing our own 'Conveyancing' (if that is the right term for a Seller).

There is a mortgage on the property and from my reading of this post:

http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/....php?t=1704885

it appears a solicitor is required to deal with the mortgage company ("it is an offence for any unqualified person to "prepare a contract for sale or a transfer, conveyance or mortgage relating to land in expectation of fee, gain or reward"), I am yet to read a book on DIY Conveyancing (which I will) - but could some one confirm whether as a seller we need a solicitor - if we act on our behalf - without 'expectation of a fee, gain or reward').
    Any other relevant advice would be of interest.
    Thanks

Existing longish thread on this question at: http://http://forums.moneysavingexpe....php?t=4457067
    RICHARD WEBSTER

As a conveyancing solicitor I believe the information given in the post to be useful (provided it relates to property in England & Wales) but I accept no liability except to fee-paying clients.

Comment

As you haven't read a book on this yet, I think this is probably not for you.

You don't need a solicitor to do this, and as the seller your job is the easiest, but prudence suggests that you should have researched this before you started to sell your house.

Not that I want to put anyone off doing this, because it's not particularly difficult, I'm just trying to read between the lines. If I'm jumping to the wrong conclusions then I apologise.

Comment

Latest Activity

Collapse

• do i need a deed of covenant?
        SJAC
        this is my first post here so apologies if there are other posts about this, but i bought a flat in the middle of last year, assumed the solicitors took care of all they needed to, but while trying to find out about parking permits for the block of flats i have bought the flat in, discovered that the...