Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Underlet leasehold flat query

Hello all,

I have just read my lease one more time and noted the following wording in the lessee's covenants section:

(a) Not at any time during the said term to assign transfer underlet or part with possession of any part (as distinct from the whole) of the Demised Premises.

(b) Not during the last seven years of the said term to assign or underlet the Demised Premises or any part thereof without the consent in writing of the Lessor first obtained.

The lease has 160 years left to run. My question is as follows (apologies but I am no legal expert and find the above wording hard to understand):

Can I create a lease covering the whole of the Demised Premises under my existing lease in exactly the same terms and sell the newly created lease whilst I still remain the direct leaseholder of the freeholder? Do I require freeholder permission to do this bearing in mind that we are definitely very far off the last 7 years of the term?

Yes but not as you think

The lease would be one day shorter, typically, than the existing term and the wording would vary from your lease to properly reflect the various obligations of the FN, you and your underlessee.

Based on your post there is no need for consent for an underlease of the whole.
    Based on the information posted, I offer my thoughts.Any action you then take is your liability. While commending individual effort, there is no substitute for a thorough review of documents and facts by paid for professional advisers.

Comment

You cannot sublet part. You can sublet the whole for any period so long as you do not create the sub-tenancy within the last seven years. (There is a slight inconsistency between paras (a) and (b) but they are of no consequence until you get to the last seven years.)