Updating incorrect TR1 - which form to HMLR?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Updating incorrect TR1 - which form to HMLR?

Dear professionals,

I am having a mix up with forms at present. Not surprising as I am not experienced.

If a TR1 was lodged with HMLR incorrectly (mentioning the wrong ownership split in box 11) can this simply be superceeded by personally and directly sending a new form RX1 to HMLR? Or an updated TR1?

I understand that a spearate trust deed would superceed the incorrect TR1 but I want to makes sure it is clear at every angle.

Much thanks

A. The Transfer deed (TR1) deals with legal ownership.
    B. Panel 11 of it flags-up only whether a form A Restriction is to be entered.
    C. Never rely on panel 11 if there are split beneficial interests; always use a formal Trust Deed.
    D. No, a completed/registered TR1 cannot be undone/amended.
    E. BUT, yes, the 'split' details can be changed (by both/all parties acting together, not unilaterally). A Trust Deed is then essential.
    JEFFREY SHAW, solicitor [and Topic Expert], Nether Edge Law*
    1. Public advice is believed accurate, but I accept no legal responsibility except to direct-paying private clients.
    2. Telephone advice: see http://www.landlordzone.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=34638.
    3. For paid advice about conveyancing/leaseholds/L&T, contact me* and become a private client.
    4. *- Contact info: click on my name (blue-highlight link).

Comment

Clear response. Thanks.

Clarifying: a Form A restriction has been entered in our case as box 11 of the TR1 did state the split, but by us both raising a formal trust deed now we can basically ignore the original TR1 error and move on.

We'll get this done professionally and keep a copy, witnessed, each. Nothing more will need to be sent to HMLR?

Essentially on the right track?

Grats

Comment

Originally posted by mandarin View Post