Cost of conveyancing sale of flat

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cost of conveyancing sale of flat

I have been quoted 680 plus vat and extras total 867! And its only an investment flat with no mortgage.
    It seems a lot and I feel like doing it myself. Has anyone done that recently?

Last year I decided to act on my own behalf after making a cash offer on a leasehold flat.
    A solicitor, who was recommended by the estate agent, was instructed by the Seller, but initially the senior partner refused to deal with me.

Then a second firm recommended by the Estate Agent also refused to deal with me.

I was quoted sums ranging from £800 to £1,600 after inquiring on-line to a number of different firms for representation, which made me even more determined to act on my own behalf.

Fortunately for me I am an experience planning consultant and two years earlier I had acted for a client with an overage clause on land she had sold and I had to negotiate with the firm of solicitors acting for the client who had to pay the overage clause.

The solicitor I dealt with was the other partner in the first firm that had refused to allow me to act on my own behalf to complete the purchase of the flat.

I contacted this solicitor by e-mail and explained how we had worked successfully to complete the previous legal matter and was ably to convince her that I was capable of acting on my own behalf due to my years of experience in buying and selling property.

What did have to happen was that the deposit had to be transferred into the solicitor's client account before exchange of contracts and the completion amount had to be transferred prior to visiting the office of the solicitor to receive the signed and witnessed TR1 form.

If you do want to act on your own behalf be prepared for an objection from the Seller's solicitor based on the concept that the monopoly accorded to Solicitors and Licensed Conveyancers is not lightly breached.

Comment