Charges on Land register query

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Charges on Land register query

Apologies in advance if this has been addressed previously I am a novice here so please do point me to the post.

I have applied for my first re-mortgage the legal team acting on behalf of the bank have told me that there is a "Lease dated 17 May 1926 to William Thomas Little for 99 years from 25 March 1926". This is known as an unregistered lease, we cannot proceed with this in place. This entry will either need removing or if still in place will need correctly registering as a leasehold title."

There is indeed a charge on the Register of Title regarding the lease however, there is a note "No copy of the lease referred to is held by HM Land Registry"

A second charge appears, "A conveyance of the land in this title dated 19 March 1984 made between (1) The City of Birmingham District Council and (2) Kenneth B***** and Muriel B****** contain restrictive covenants." NOTE: Original filed.

I have a copy of the conveyance which was sent to me when I completed my purchase. It is in legal talk which I'm finding hard to follow but I think it is the council sale of the house to the folks named in the second charge. Would this have overwritten the lease?

I had no issue with my initial mortgage on my freehold property with the charge on the register so am quite stumped by it being an issue now.
    Either way can someone please advise me how I can get the lease issue resolved to get my current mortgage deal?

Much appreciated

When a leaseholder buys the freehold the lease does not automatically get merged into the freehold.

In modern times an application would have to be made to Land Registry to cancel the leasehold title, otherwise the leasehold title continues to exist even though the freeholder is the same person as the leaseholder.