Monetising a freehold

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Monetising a freehold

Myself and a fellow flat owner (in a unit of 3) have recently acquired a freehold at not-inconsiderable expense. The main reason we did so was to get an unscruplous freeholder off our backs, and avoid the ridiculous charges that they were constantly coming up with. The third flat didn't buy in, as they are moving out soon - their potential buyers are seeking our -pre-approval for proposed extensive building works, and shown little interest in buying a share of the freehold. I wanted to know how exactly we might be able to make our asset work for us in the short-term. Would this be an opportunity to levy a charge for our approval, and is there a system in place for such a thing? How else might we reasonably incentivise the incoming buyers to buy into the freehold? I'd appreciate any feedback, as I have very little real-world experience of how to manage the freehold thus far.

Unless the lease explicitly provides for fees for approval, you can only charge the reasonable costs, e.g. the cost of employing a surveyor to validate the safety of the work, and to check that it is being implemented as specified, and any costs arising from the need to vary other leases..

I suppose, as it is pre-approval, the lease doesn't apply at that stage, so it is possible that you have carte blanche, but do you really want to use the same tactics as the previous freeholder, when you bought out the freehold because of their monetisation tactics.

Comment

Thanks for your reply. Quite! We don't want to carry on that putrid legacy! I certainly wouldn't want to engage in any underhand tactics, but wanted to understand further what would be the usual process in a situation such as this. I expect we'll end up greenlighting the proposals without any obstacles.

Comment

Is any extension on communal land though? You could certainly charge for that.