Tenancy For Life ?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tenancy For Life ?

I have been renting some Agricultural Land land since 1984 off a Public Body, my lease ran out a few years ago and I have carried on paying the rent.
    They have a "New" Managing Agent, and on their "Rent Invoice" they state Without Prejudice to Expiry 30/06/1994.

I believe the Landlord does not have a copy of the lease and neither have I.

Am I correct in that I believe I have a Lifetime Lease and the dating on the Rent Invoice acknowledges the Lease pre-dates later Landlord & Tenant legislation.

You do not have a "lifetime lease" but probably a lease which it is difficult for the landlord to end during your lifetime. If, as is likely to be the case, you have a tenancy under the Agricultural Holdings Act 1986, it did not end when the fixed term expired but continued under the Act. I cannot see there is any point in the rent invoice being marked "Without Prejudice to Expiry 30/06/1994" but I am no expert on agricultural tenancies.

Comment

Latest Activity

Collapse

• Renting a field with no contract..
      k95
      Hiya everyone looking into renting a field. Told them I would take it and asked if they had a contract for me to sign, they told me they don't bother with contracts they just expect that if I decided to leave I would leave it in the same condition I found it.

Are there any overall laws...
      24-06-2019, 17:43 PM
    • Reply to Renting a field with no contract..
      Always Problems
      My local council gives a 364 day grazing licence and insists they are off on day 365. It gives the council the opportunity not to renew the licence again....
      28-08-2019, 17:24 PM
      Karen
      I rent a field to horse owners under a grazing licence drawn up by a land agent, one year with a break day. I was told it is easier to ask them not to renew after the year that way
      22-08-2019, 15:34 PM
      Lawcruncher